Fitness Friday: Week 6

Yikes, it’s 11:33! I almost didn’t make this post on Friday.

This week has been somewhat of a whirlwind. I was in Knoxville Sunday through Thursday for training, so again I faced the hotel workout. “Where can I put my computer so I can see the DVD clearly?” … “What can I use for weights?” … “Ugh, I really don’t want to do yoga after that big meal.” (And I didn’t, either. That was my resting day.)

Today, my legs are super sore. I’ve been bending down very slowly, and it makes me feel like an elderly woman trying to tend her garden or feed the cats. This is all due to the legs and back DVD. My skinny calves haven’t changed much, but at least I know I’m using them more. As fearless P90X leader Tony Horton says, “Rome wasn’t built in a day, and neither is your body.”

This P90X thing has come at a good time. I’m filling out my health survey before our annual health screenings next week, and right now, I’m able to say I exercise an average of 6 days a week. 🙂 I’m not doing so hot on my daily fruit and vegetable intake, though. (Does anyone out there really eat the daily fruit and veggie recommendation? That’s 3-5 servings of vegetables a day and 2-4 servings of fruit. I pat myself on the back when I have time to cut up the apple in my lunch box.)

Thankfully, the survey does not ask how many chocolate chip cookies ended up in my belly when I was baking.

(Side note/observation of the day: It’s awfully hard to be healthy when work functions include doughnuts, bagels and pastries. Who decided a pastry is breakfast food? … My female co-workers were pretty entertaining after all the sugar, though.)

Leave a Reply

