27 and counting

If you’ve known me for any length of time, you know I like my birthday. Hm, like isn’t really strong enough. I LOVE my birthday. It makes me feel kind of vain since my birthday is basically a celebration of me, but I like having an excuse to do what I want to do, not do what I don’t want to do and get together with people I love to celebrate another year of life and look forward to the coming year.

On Wednesday, I turned 27, and the pit of my stomach tells me it’ll be a good year. Pete turned 28 on Friday, so we’ve gotten to do double the fun stuff!

Here’s the abridged version of what I did on my birthday: got a bunch of Facebook messages, texts, phone calls and well wishes in person — all which gave me that warm, fuzzy feeling; ate lots of good food; worked, but took Friday off; and had the best birthday I’ve ever had on the clock.

Here’s what I DIDN’T do: dishes, cleaning, pack lunches, complain or frown.

Here’s the past week in pictures, in no particular order because it’s too much work to organize them after uploading:

My beautiful bouquet from Mr. Jothen. He's so good at picking out flowers. He even arranged this one!

My beautiful bouquet from Mr. Jothen. He’s so good at picking out flowers. He even arranged this one!

To celebrate both of our birthdays. A yellow cake with chocolate icing on the left and rainbow chip on the right.

To celebrate both of our birthdays. A yellow cake with chocolate icing on the left and rainbow chip on the right.

Amelie's French Bakery in NoDa. We both got the salted caramel brownie. Thanks for the recommendation, Jen!

Amelie’s French Bakery in NoDa. We both got the salted caramel brownie. Thanks for the recommendation, Jen!

Inside Amelie's

Inside Amelie’s

There's so much to look at!

There’s so much to look at!

My family came to visit, and we went ice skating at the Extreme Ice Center near our house. It was Emily's first time!

My family came to visit, and we went ice skating at the Extreme Ice Center near our house. It was Emily’s first time!

All the Facebook wishes made me feel special. =)

All the Facebook wishes made me feel special. =)

At my cubicle

At my cubicle

What a handsome husband I have. We went to Zink near SouthPark for part of the Queen's Feast (Restaurant Week) and had a 4-course dinner with champagne. Pete wasn't feeling well, but still took me out. A trooper.

What a handsome husband I have. We went to Zink near SouthPark for part of the Queen’s Feast (Restaurant Week) and had a 4-course dinner. Pete wasn’t feeling well, but still took me out. A trooper.

I took this from the car because it was really cold outside. There was a red carpet (OK, a rug) leading to the front door.

I took this from the car because it was really cold outside. There was a red carpet (OK, a rug) leading to the front door.

A couple of doodles from my co-workers inside a birthday card.

A couple of doodles from my co-workers inside a birthday card.

Celebrating with some of the ladies at work. My favorite ice cream!

Celebrating with some of the ladies at work. My favorite ice cream, mint chocolate chip!

My meal at Zink. Trout and a shrimp dish with rice and tomatoes.

My main course at Zink. Trout and a shrimp dish with rice and tomatoes.

Being silly at lunch. Elizabeth looks ticked off, and I was apparently very happy.

Being silly at lunch. Elizabeth looks ticked off, and I was apparently very happy.

Jessica didn't want to look short beside me.

Jessica didn’t want to look short beside me.

Me and Tameka, who took a break from her meeting to come see me!

Me and Tameka, who took a break from her meeting to come see me!

Burning my birthday cake candle while baking our birthday cake!

Burning my birthday cake candle while baking our birthday cake!

Sweet cards (and a decorated envelope) from the best co-workers ever.

Sweet cards (and a decorated envelope) from the best co-workers ever.

Double the yummy smells.

Double the yummy smells.

Tickets to go see "Wicked" in March! This will be a late birthday gift for both of us, purchased with Pete's birthday money because he's too stubborn and loving to buy something HE wants with his portion. I bought a new comforter with my half.

Tickets to go see “Wicked” in March! This will be a late birthday gift for both of us, purchased with Pete’s birthday money because he’s too stubborn and loving to buy something HE wants with his portion. I bought a new comforter with my half.

One thought on “27 and counting

Leave a Reply

