I <3 the ’90s

Our church is having a book fair, and Sunday there were shelves and shelves of kids’ books in the narthex. I even saw some oldies like Clifford the Big Red Dog and the Berenstain Bears.

schoolhouse-rock-bill2

I’ve mentioned this before, but I miss being a kid. I miss Amelia Bedelia books and field day. I miss my pink Skip-It, my glittery trash bag kite and the Magic School Bus. Oh, and Schoolhouse Rock. I still remember the animated Pilgrims arriving at Plymouth. (I think the animated version is a tad happier than the real-life one.) And I would be remiss if I didn’t mention “I’m Just a Bill.” Sitting on Capitol Hill, of course.

I even miss my ribbon dancer and all 15 feet of it’s “shimmering satin ribbon.”

“Ribbon dancer all around, dancin’ in the street! (Come on and do it!) Ribbon dancer up and down, dancin’ to the beat! (Jumpin’ through it!)” … You eventually run out of things to do with a baton and a long piece of ribbon. I could have made one with a stick and a streamer for a lot less.

easybakerecallpromoimageI also miss my Easy-Bake Oven and Baskin-Robbins Ice Cream Maker. “I scream, you scream, we all scream for BASKIN-ROBBINS ICE CREAM MAKER!”

I still give my parents grief for selling the Easy-Bake Oven. The new ones are more modern-looking, so maybe I’ll find an excuse to bake tiny cakes again.

Leave a Reply

