Little Mermaid, yippee!

Back in June, I was THRILLED to interview Jodi Benson, the voice of Ariel in “The Little Mermaid.” We talked for close to an hour, then I wrote a story about her for our website. (Here’s my story.)

photo (15)

Interviewing her and talking about the movie made me want to watch it, so five friends and I gathered one evening last month for a mermaid party. It was SO MUCH FUN. We had food like shrimp, Goldfish, sea blue punch and “crab.” Kristy bought Disney princess plates and cups.

It was SO fun, in fact, that we decided to watch some other Disney movies as a group. Next weekend, we’re watching “Aladdin.”

Here are some quotes from our movie viewing, along with some pictures.

Kristy: “King Triton is ripped.”

Me: "I think of this movie every time I pick the Arial font on my Word documents."

Me: “I think of this movie every time I pick the Arial font on my Word documents.”

Kristy: "I like how they make her hair all flowy. It's like a perfect coif under water."

Kristy: “I like how they make her hair all flowy. It’s like a perfect coif under water.”

Melanie: "In real life, if she was that deep in the ocean, she would've exploded."

Melanie: “In real life, if she was that deep in the ocean, she would’ve exploded.”

Melanie: (about Sebastian) "Does he not need to be in water? ... Don't they dry out?"

Melanie: (about Sebastian) “Does he not need to be in water? … Don’t they dry out?”

Deb: "Oh I hit a turtle in the road the other day."

Deb: “Oh I hit a turtle in the road the other day.”

Deb: (about Ursula taking on a different body) "Now if I had the power to be skinny, I would STAY skinny."

Deb: (about Ursula taking on a different body) “Now if I had the power to be skinny, I would STAY skinny.”

Leigh: "Does nobody notice he looks like a zombie?" Kristy: "He's probably feeling guilty about that almost kiss the night before his wedding."

Leigh: “Does nobody notice he looks like a zombie?”
Kristy: “He’s probably feeling guilty about that almost kiss the night before his wedding.”

Cicely: "He's like, 'Girl, you can't swim anymore.'"

Cicely: “He’s like, ‘Girl, you can’t swim anymore.'”

Deb: (about where the movie takes place) "I still think it's somewhere between Florida and South Carolina."

Deb: (about where the movie takes place) “I still think it’s somewhere between Florida and South Carolina.”

Melanie: (about Prince Eric) "He was Greg in 'The Brady Bunch'!"

Melanie: (about Prince Eric) “He was Greg in ‘The Brady Bunch’!”

Cicely: "You're a mermaid and she's an octopus. Way to ruin the wedding."

Cicely: “You’re a mermaid and she’s an octopus. Way to ruin the wedding.”

One thought on “Little Mermaid, yippee!

  1. Pingback: Disney movie 2: Aladdin | Blogging at Tiffany's

Leave a Reply

