One word

photo (3)

Pete and I are plugging away at our daily Bible studies and came across one called One Word a few weeks ago. We found it through the Bible Gateway app, but here’s the website it’s taken from.

The idea is to carefully consider one word that you can focus on for the year. Not something you pull out of thin air, but a word that demonstrates something you feel God calling you to work on. People have chosen words like passion, listen, determination, love, brave and sober. My word is humility.

Humility is the opposite of pride. C.S. Lewis once said:

There is one vice of which no man in the world is free, which every one in the world loathes when he sees it in someone else. … The vice I am talking of is Pride. … Pride leads to every other vice: it is the complete anti-God state of mind. … As long as you are proud you cannot know God. A proud man is always looking down on things and people; and, of course, as long as you are looking down, you cannot see something that is above you.

Pride is easy. It’s not wrong to be proud of things we accomplish or to be proud of our spouses or kids or friends, but I’m thinking more of the pride that’s synonymous with conceit or thinking that you’re better than others. The kind of pride that says, “Look at me and how great I am.”

When I decided on my word, I thought of a verse that stuck out to me earlier. Romans 12:3:

Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment.

I’ve told several people about my word, and a few people have been surprised, saying they don’t think of me as prideful. I’m glad, but there are a few ways I can think of trying to be more humble:

  • Who doesn’t, at one time or another, find themselves judging someone else? I’ll catch myself thinking I am somehow wiser or kinder than someone else, but we all have our strengths and weaknesses. And I have plenty of faults.
  • Selfishness. How easy is it to think only of yourself and not want to consider someone else’s time or needs? But I think when you’re humble, you’re more aware of serving others and not putting yourself first.
  • One definition of humble is “not costly or luxurious.” You often hear the phrases “humble beginnings” or “humble abode.” To me, this definition of humility means being wise with money. What’s necessary, and what’s excessive? Can I make do with what I have? Am I being generous with what I’ve been given?

One way I’m trying to keep my focus on humility is by taping the word next to the bathroom mirror. The goal isn’t to be self-deprecating, but to be more modest in my view of myself and more apt to seeing the best in people. We’ll see if this one word thing works!

Exciting P.S. Remember how I started my Ireland fund this time last year? So far, I’ve saved $579.70! Part of that is from this month’s birthday money. I also started an extra savings account this past year, so it’s likely that some of that will go toward Ireland as well. Woot woot!
5 thoughts on “One word

  1. I am so proud of you in an humble thankful way. 🙂 I think that humility is something everyone EVERYDAY should work on. “Pride cometh before a downfall”, and you are right, it is just human nature, but God calls us to be more like Him. “Come unto me all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn of me for I am meek and lowly in heart and there you will find rest.” Matthew (25 or 26, I forget). If we let him guide us with his “yoke”, His Word and Spirit, we too will learn to be more meek and lowly in heart and show others the rest we find in Him. I think I will try this too – I need to find a word!

    Like

  2. Love this! One definitely of humility that I’ve heard that I love: Humility is not thinking less of yourself, but rather, less about yourself.

    And congrats on the Ireland Fund! That’s awesome. Not sure how much you need to save but that’s definitely a big chunk of change. : )

    Like

  3. I like that definition! … I’m not sure how much I would need for Ireland, either, but I figure I’ll keep saving until the opportunity arises. Hopefully sooner than later!

    Like

  4. Pingback: That humble thing | Blogging at Tiffany's

  5. Pingback: Calm and (sort of) collected | Blogging at Tiffany's

Leave a Reply

