Texas to Japan

I keep forgetting to post pictures from my trip to El Paso at the beginning of April. I went for work to cover the Greater El Paso Festival of Hope and had a blast. El Paso is RIGHT at the Mexico border and it really did feel like we were in another country. We were also close to New Mexico, so one day we were there, a team photographer drove across the border and had Chinese food for lunch. : )

Here’s a link to some pictures I took during the first night of the two-day Festival. (There are a few in here I didn’t take, but most of them are mine.) These give you an idea of what the Festival was all about. Here are just a handful of them:

IMG_7162-EDIT

IMG_7489-EDIT

IMG_7416-EDIT

IMG_7328-EDIT

IMG_7673-EDIT

The second night of the Festival was held inside and included a rendition of “I’ll Fly Away” from a mariachi band. I gotta say, these Festivals are good about getting a mix of music. We had a Spanish rapper, an English rapper, a guitar trio, some Christian rockers and Michael W. Smith. If you didn’t see it on Facebook, here’s a summary of my run-in with Michael at the hotel:

A girl walks into an elevator. Another man is on the elevator so she says hi. He turns and asks if she’s going to the event tonight. She says yes! He extends a hand and says, “I’m Michael.” She feels like an idiot and realizes it’s Michael W. Smith but with a hat. She says, “Oh, hi!” and they proceed to talk about the time they met at a previous event. Saved. And taking a closer look at people in hats.

Anyway, it was a great time. The co-worker I went with showed me the ropes of covering a Festival, and even though we had some late nights trying to get content on our website at work, it was one of my favorite things I’ve done for work so far. Here are some of the lower quality iPhone pictures I took for your viewing pleasure:

photo 1

My guess is “hats” or “boots.”

photo 2

A quirky cafe with one of the best salads ever.

photo 3

Who doesn’t love a Happy Store?

photo 4

People lined up to attend the second night of the Festival.

Behind the scenes. Me in one of the media rooms at the venue.

Behind the scenes. Me in one of the media rooms at the venue.

So now, just a month later, I’m preparing to cover another Festival—this time, on the other side of the world! A friend/co-worker and I are going together to do the same kind of thing as last time—write stories, take pictures and manage social media. We leave in the morning for Sapporo, Japan, and I’m really excited. I’ve never been to Asia. They’re 13 hours ahead in Sapporo, so it will take some adjusting. (Our lunch time is the middle of the night there.) I think we’ll be less than an hour from the water, though, so I hope we get to see it.

Until next time, sayōnara!

Sapporo, Japan

Sapporo, Japan

 

One thought on “Texas to Japan

Leave a Reply

