Ready to run

running shoes

If you know I’m not a pink person, you’ll know that these are not my shoes. Mine are blue, but I don’t have a picture of them yet.

Back in September, I wrote this blog about running a 5K—and how, after months of saying I was going to follow the Couch to 5K running plan, I decided not to worry about it because I just couldn’t get into it.

Well, folks, women change their minds.

About a month ago, a friend invited me and Pete to do the Electric Run at the Charlotte Motor Speedway. It’s a 5K at night involving glow sticks and rave music. OK, I don’t know about the rave music, but that’s what it looks like. It’s Aug. 23, so it’s good that it’s at night.

A few weeks ago, I started training for it using the RunKeeper app on my phone. It tracks time, distance and so on. My endurance is sad, so I need all the practice I can get. I could walk for hours, but running is a different thing.

Pete and I have since invested in some running shoes since our shoes were old and worn out, and most mornings, I’ve been getting up at 4:30 to walk/run around the neighborhood. If Pete doesn’t go with me, I take one of the dogs. (Zoey has ADD and Anja wants to walk while I run, so it can be challenging.) So far, I think the farthest I’ve run in one stretch is half a mile. And the best time walking/running 3.1 miles is 33 minutes.

My goal for the 5K is to run the entire thing. I signed up for a free running plan on RunKeeper that is supposed to help you do that within 8 weeks.

Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

  • If you’re not a runner, your legs might be REALLY sore on the second and third days. So much so that you can’t even take the tiny step onto the sidewalk. Or get into your car without wimpering a little.
  • I’ve found that it helps to switch the side of the street you’re walking or running on. The streets slope up in the middle, so if you’re always on one side, one leg and foot might get more sore than the other.
  • It’s really dark at 4:30 in the morning. It’s also way cooler than 6 p.m. And there aren’t as many cars.

Also, the title of my blog reminds me of this gem of a song from “Runaway Bride”:

Leave a Reply

