7 months, 10 trips

So far this year, I’ve had the chance to travel A LOT. Sometimes for work, sometimes for pleasure. And I’ve loved it all.

Since there are so many places I’ve been wanting to share stories and photos from, I’m just going to focus on the highlights. This isn’t all the trips, but it’s the top 10.

1. Hawaii

In February, I was in Honolulu to cover a work event and got to tack on some vacation days while I was down there. Pete met me in Honolulu once the event was over, then we flew to Maui for a few days. Highlights:

  • On my flight to Honolulu, I discovered a love for chocolate covered macadamia nuts, which they offered on the plane. On Pete’s flight over, he sat next to a man who introduced himself as Shamu. We had very different experiences.
  • Because Pete’s flight was delayed, I had extra down time once I wrapped up with work. I made a trip to Pearl Harbor, where I watched a video about the bombing, walked through some exhibits and took pictures of the harbor. It was windy that day, so the ferries weren’t able to take anyone out in the water. I expected the area to be bigger, but I did only see a portion of the harbor, so that’s probably why. I could see a large, rusty part of the USS Arizona still sticking up out of the water in the distance.
img_2722

Pearl Harbor

  • The night Pete got there, we walked around a park in Honolulu and saw what I’m guessing were street performers practicing on the beach. There was a girl twirling hula hoops and a guy dancing around with fiery torches.
  • The next day, we flew to Maui on a tiny plane where the stewardess’ name was Ariel. Given my love for The Little Mermaid, I almost squealed when I saw her name tag. She gave us tiny plastic juice cups, the kind with peel-off aluminum lids like I used to get in school.
  • Maui isn’t that big, but there’s quite a bit to do. After picking up a rental car and eating at Denny’s (hey, we visited local places, too), we got on the Road to Hana, which is basically a jungle version of the Blue Ridge Parkway. It took about 6 hours to get to Hana and back, making several pit stops to see waterfalls, sea turtles, a black sand beach and super green cliffs plunging into the ocean. Pete enjoyed zipping around the blind curves in our rented Dodge Dart.
img_3989

Road to Hana, overlooking the black sand beach

img_2818

One of the incredible spots along the Road to Hana

img_2932

One of my favorite views on the Road to Hana

img_20160228_163311

A rock meant for sitting

0226161147b

See? A Hawaii version of the Blue Ridge Parkway.

pano_20160226_190406

Wai’anapanapa State Park, Road to Hana

  • Afterwards, we stopped in Paia and ate pizza. The pineapple on the pizza was the only pineapple I had in Hawaii, but it was good. The pizza place was really hot inside, though, with brick ovens not far from our table.
img_3998

View from our hotel

  • The next day, we got up early to take a private kayak tour on the ocean. We paddled around the shore, watching humpback whales come out of the water just feet away, then swim under our kayak. We snorkeled for about 15 minutes on the way back. I forgot Pete gets seasick til we were a couple of hours in. Thankfully, he was fine.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kayaking in Makena Bay, Maui

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yep, that’s how close the humpback whales were.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We could hear a whale singing under the water.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Snorkeling!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This guy made me think of Finding Nemo.

  • That night, we explored more of the island. We checked out Iao Valley State Park for a little while, and by the time we headed back to the car, we were the only ones there, except some roosters walking around. I’d also found a lighthouse on the map, so we drove there, but it was dinky. Pete said it looked like a traffic cone. We did see a gorgeous sunset, though, then made our way to Lahaina for ice cream. Lahaina is really touristy which isn’t our speed, but it’s also home to an ENORMOUS banyan tree that, according to my thorough Wikipedia search, was planted by a guy in 1873 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the arrival of Christian missionaries. I also saw a sign advertising teacup pigs at this 2nd-floor pet shop as we were walking around, but when we got up there, it was closed. That was probably the saddest part of the trip. 
img_4033

Sunset by the dinky lighthouse

img_4034

The dinky lighthouse

img_4007

Iao Valley State Park, Maui

img_4017

A short walk around the state park

pano_20160227_235403

The crazy big banyan tree—it’s all connected!

  • Other random things of note: watching a hula show on the beach (did you know men hula, too?), petting a parrot, getting a postcard from Guadalupe the housekeeper who left it in my hotel room, buying a strawberry parfait from an ABC store (which also sells sunscreen and souvenirs), bear hugging a mayor, getting stuck exiting a parking garage, eating at an Irish pub with a real Irish waitress, having an amazing meal at Tommy Bahama, watching a man in loincloth blow a shell while his more fully clothed comrade lit a tiki torch, eating quinoa by the ocean and seeing a cream-colored crab while eating said quinoa.
img_3908

Mountains, beach, what more could I ask for?

img_2626

Sunset across from my hotel in Honolulu

2. Arizona

In March, I had another change of scenery when a co-worker and I went to Lake Havasu, Arizona, for work. We first flew into Vegas and had to drive to Lake Havasu, taking a detour to Hoover Dam on the border of Nevada and Arizona. Highlights:

  • Driving through Vegas was an experience on its own, with billboards for places like Sexy Steakhouse. Blah, no thank you.
img_3201

Overlooking Hoover Dam

img_3195

Hoover Dam

img_3187

Hoover Dam

  • The rest of the drive through the desert was like being in a different country almost, it’s so different from North Carolina. There are miles of nothing but brown-red dust and mountains. It was a bit calming, and we did have a blast hiking with some other co-workers one afternoon, but I don’t think I could live there. I need green. Our computers and jackets got really dusty during the outdoor event.
img_7065

My co-workers are always up for an adventure.

img_7053

Beautiful

img_7126

You can’t tell, but I’m sitting on a steep cliff!

img_7211

Mountain goat?

  • One of the craziest things I saw on our drive to Lake Havasu was a dilapidated shack on the side of Highway 93 with graffiti that said, “This is it! Santa’s Land.” Pass.
  • I also saw lots of Ross Dress for Less stores.
  • Lake Havasu itself was beautiful. We were there during Spring Break, though, when hundreds of spring breakers descend on the lake, specifically the canal, wearing next to nothing, drinking too much and hooking up. There’s a family friendly side of the canal and a spring breaker side, but it doesn’t really matter because you can easily see one side of the canal from the other. On the plus side, the scene provided a great ministry opportunity.
img_4349-crop

At the canal in Lake Havasu

img_4414-crop

You can see a sign advertising our ministry event, a Will Graham Celebration, in the middle.

img_4310

Sunset in Arizona

3. Oklahoma & Kansas

At the end of April, I was in Oklahoma and Kansas for another work trip. The drive from Oklahoma City to Topeka was one of the most beautiful drives I’ve ever taken, minus the toll roads. Highlights:

  • There were a LOT of cows. Black ones, white ones, tan ones, brown ones, all in bright green pastures as far as you can see against pink and purple skies. And tons of white windmills. I wish I had stopped more to take pictures.
  • I learned that you can get $5 showers at the Cowboy Travel Plaza or stop in at Boots Barbecue for the “best pork butt in Pain County.” Quite a claim, Boots.
  • Oklahoma and Kansas love them some Subway. I can’t even tell you how many I passed.
  • I also passed an Oldsmobile with a bumper sticker that said “Honk if parts fall off.”
img_3594

Downtown Oklahoma City

img_3604

On the drive from Oklahoma to Kansas

img_3597

Cowboy outside the gas station

img_3607

Train going by

img_3648

A pit stop at the Monroe School, where Brown vs. Board of Education started

4. Amelia Island, Florida

For Mother’s Day, I took Mom to Amelia Island in Florida. We rented a condo in Amelia Plantation, where I decided I’m going to retire. Highlights:

  • The first night, we walked to Fisherman’s Pier. I climbed a sand dune and Mom took selfies with me.
img_4078

1st selfie of many on this trip

img_4082

Fisherman’s Pier

  • We got plenty of beach time. We read, collected seashells, dozed off and took more selfies.
photo-may-07-10-42-04-am

Made for the beach

  • One night we got ice cream at DeNucci’s, even though we were already full. I mean, you can’t go to the beach and not get ice cream. Mine was good, but they forgot the Nutella inside the cone. Tragic.
  • Amelia Island Plantation was a great place to bike. We rented bikes and took off for a few hours, stopping at a couple of parks along the way. It was shady and wonderful. We stopped at a smoothie place that’s part of Omni Hotel on the plantation and drank our smoothies by the fancy pool.
photo-may-08-3-30-26-pm

Biking around Amelia Plantation

img_4141

I want one of these.

  • On Mother’s Day morning, we headed to Peters Point to go horseback riding on the beach. Mom rode Jen; I rode Jesse. They stuck together the whole time, to the point where my legs were up against Mom’s horse.
photo-may-08-10-12-36-am

Me, Mom, Jen and Jesse

  • Mother’s Day night, we ate at Ciao in Fernandina Beach. We got to sit on the patio right by the sidewalk and people watch, which was mostly fun until a guy on a bike came by selling pineapples and playing a harmonica. He didn’t leave until a lady at the table nearby gave him money.
photo-may-07-6-13-02-pm

At Fernandina Beach

  • After Mother’s Day dinner, we went looking for a lighthouse on the map (yes, another lighthouse fail), but couldn’t find it to save our lives. Instead, we found a swing set! 
img_4113

Like mother …

photo-may-07-8-18-42-pm

Like daughter.

  • Other fun things: Being the only ones at the pool right behind our condo, watching a documentary on Gabby Douglas and going for runs in the morning while Mom got ready. I’d love to go back soon. We also stopped in Savannah, Georgia, on our way out of town, had lunch and iced chais.
photo-may-09-1-45-44-pm

Mom reluctantly poses after lunch in Savannah.

photo-may-09-2-52-15-pm

I love the Spanish moss.

img_4155

In Forsyth Park, Savannah

5. Missouri

In mid-May, I was in the Missouri capital for work. It was a short trip, but I try to find something fun or unique to do on each trip. Highlights:

  • I had the best peach smoothie of my life at Arris’ Bistro in Jefferson City. … That was about it for this trip, minus the cute downtown. It poured down rain for the work event, but it was encouraging to see so many people participate anyway.
img_5610

Jefferson City, Missouri

6. Minnesota

In mid-June, I went to Minnesota with our summer intern, Maddie. It was a work trip, but we got to tack on some vacation afterwards and stay with my in-laws. Highlights: 

  • Seeing my extended family! Maddie loved meeting our nephews, and we both enjoyed dinner out with my brother- and sister-in-law.
img_4398

The oldest

img_4410

The youngest

  • Of course I had to take Maddie to the Mall of America. We definitely got our walking in.
img_4329

At the Mall of America

  • We also discovered the best chicken wings of our lives at Doolittles near my in-laws.
  • The best part was a day trip to Duluth, with a brief hop over the Wisconsin state line so Maddie could say she’s been there. 
img_4538

Duluth

img_4535

I ended up framing this one for my desk at work. Can you tell I have a thing for lighthouses?

img_4526

Bridge in Duluth

img_4550

And a five-minute trip to Wisconsin

  • On our way up to Duluth, we actually went past it a bit and spend some time at Gooseberry Falls in Two Harbors. We saw an awkward engagement and almost walked into a picture of the couple. We stopped at Betty’s Pies afterwards (pre-lunch).
img_4447

Somewhere on the way to Two Harbors, on one side of Silver Creek Cliff

img_4469

Gooseberry Falls

img_4472

A trail at Gooseberry Falls

img_4461

A guy watching Maddie take this picture said I was brave. 🙂

img_4488

Where I had some apple pie a la mode before lunch

  • While in Two Harbors, we visited a different lighthouse, too. (Shush, I like this kind of thing.) It overlooks Lake Superior.
img_4506

Two Harbors, Minnesota

img_4503

Cheesin’ for the camera

  • Another highlight was Duluth Grille, where we had an amazing dinner. Grandma’s Marathon was happening that day, so there were a bunch of sunburnt runners limping around the restaurant.
  • We did some artsy stuff, too. We went to an art show one day, and then to a performance at my mother-in-law’s university another day.
img_4426

On campus at St. Kate’s University

img_4379

At an art show somewhere in St. Paul

7. Asheville, North Carolina

For the past several years, my best friends since middle school have tried to do a girls’ weekend. This year, we ended up in Asheville in early June. Highlights:

  • We toured the Biltmore, which Sara had never seen. (!) We also got exciting news from Alex!
  • Alex found a house for us to rent in the mountains, which was a lot of fun. 
  • We had plenty of time to walk around downtown, grab some chips from The Gourmet Chip Company and hit up a cute coffee shop.
img_4289

Besties since middle school

img_4281

Overlook on the back porch of the Biltmore

img_4284

Caught in a selfie

img_4299

A lovely day for the Biltmore

8. Wisconsin

In July, I flew to Madison, Wisconsin, to visit Sarah for a long weekend. Highlights:

  • The first day I was there, we had dinner with her husband at The Old Fashioned. It poured down rain while we were there and we got soaked running back to the car. Driving back to their apartment, we had to drive through a flooded intersection, but thankfully we weren’t washed away. It was crazy. Sarah handled it well and we all sopped up the water that got into her car afterwards.
img_4853

The scary flooded intersection

  • One of my favorite parts was exploring the University of Wisconsin-Madison. We stopped at some food trucks on campus one day and ate on the Memorial Union Terrace overlooking Lake Mendota. I got to sit in a big yellow chair.
img_4858

Finally, a chair my height.

  • We also checked out the farmer’s market by the State Capitol, then went in the Capitol to cool off. We walked up to the Capitol roof and got a 360 view.
img_4883

Inside the Wisconsin State Capitol in Madison

  • Sarah and her husband took me to the botanical gardens one afternoon. Things like that make me wish I could grow stuff.
img_4901

Botanical gardens

  • Another favorite part was celebrating Sarah’s new job with a trip to the local coffee shop and walking on some trails afterwards. I got pretty sweaty and gross, but it was worth it. We don’t get much one-on-one time.
img_4862

Pointing the way

img_4863

A field of wildflowers

9. Montana, Idaho & Wyoming

In early August, I visited three states in a row to cover events for work. I spent 18 hours on the road and stayed in 5 hotels in 5 days. Highlights:

  • The first stop was Montana. The day our team was supposed to fly out was the same day Delta had the power outage, so it was a scramble that morning to rearrange our plans. I was originally supposed to fly into Helena, but flew to Great Falls instead. It ended up being a good thing for me because I had time to pull over and take pictures on the hour-and-a-half drive from Great Falls to Helena. I was in Montana for a mission trip in 2005, and it was just as beautiful as I remember. So open.
img_4967

Taking a short detour on my way from Great Falls to Helena

  • I like how outdoorsy everything is in Montana. When I landed in Great Falls, I went to pick up a rental car at the airport. I asked the attendant where the restroom was and she pointed toward a baggage claim conveyor belt behind me with a bright yellow kayak displayed on top. “It’s back there, right behind the kayak,” she said. That’s the first time someone has referenced a boat when giving me directions to the bathroom. 
  • Just like the drive from Oklahoma to Kansas, I passed lots of cows (and a steakhouse) on my way to Helena. Someone asked me when I got back if I’d had a burger while out west, but I couldn’t say I had. I did have Chinese food in Helena.
  • I called Mom on my drive from Great Falls and told her a little bit about the scenery. When she heard there weren’t many people around and I was driving by myself, she gave me some advice: “It’s always good to have some moves in case you have to punch somebody. Or have a little can of hairspray handy to squirt in their eyes.” Fortunately, I didn’t have to get scrappy in Montana.
img_4968

I found another park!

img_4970

Apparently you can rent these and stay in the park.

img_4981

Before a downpour

  • After Helena, I rode the team bus to Boise, Idaho. I didn’t get to do much non-work stuff there, except eat sushi at Dharma Sushi and Thai. It was amazing.
  • Next stop: Wyoming, where one of the hotels I stayed at in Rock Springs had a Cowboy Room. I wish I’d peeked in now just to see what it was. 
img_5085

Outside the hotel in Cheyenne, Wyoming

  • The absolute highlight from Wyoming was seeing a meteor shower with some co-workers in the middle of the night outside of Cheyenne.
  • Since several from our team flew out of Denver, Colorado, to go back home, I got to spend time with my friend, Maddie, who as I mentioned before, interned with us this summer. We grabbed dinner, walked around the city, then stood in line at Little Man Ice Cream. The guy gave me a HUGE scoop of salted Oreo ice cream, and I wasn’t complaining.
img_5134

Denver

img_5136

Before my big scoop from Little Man

10. Vermont to New York

A co-worker and I covered events in Montplier, Vermont, and Albany, New York, at the end of August. Highlights:

  • Exploring Burlington, Vermont, which is a really cute town on Lake Champlain.
img_5286

Burlington, Vermont

img_5290

Lake Champlain

img_5298

I guess you can’t tell this was taken in Vermont, but imagine the lake in front of me and cute, old buildings behind me.

img_5279

A Burlington mural

  • Visiting the Ben & Jerry’s headquarters and splitting a pint of ice cream on the patio.
img_5321

We missed the tour of headquarters, but this is basically just as good, right?

  • Picking up white cheddar popcorn and Dove dark chocolate for our late-night, 3-hour drive from Montpelier to Albany after a long day of work.
  • Passing cute inns, general stores, a life-sized superman statue, signs for moose (which I never thought of being in Vermont), along with advertisements for maple syrup, guns, tubing adventures and a battlefield.
  • The New York State Capitol was impressive on its own. Absolutely gorgeous. It reminded me of the Biltmore. Unfortunately we didn’t have time to go inside since we were working during the open hours.
img_5381

New York State Capitol, Albany

I’ve been so blessed to get to visit all these places and never would have guessed this time last year that I’d be buzzing around the country, from one end to the other.

So after all this travel, what’s next on the agenda? 

IRELAND!!!!! And maybe a couple of other places. 😉 Lots and lots of pictures to come.

One thought on “7 months, 10 trips

  1. So glad you’ve gotten to go all these places! I love all the pictures too and of course getting to go to Amelia Island with you was so special. I think that silver creek cliff, Gooseberry Falls, Deluth and Wyoming and Hawaii are my other favorites. Can’t wait to see pictures of Ireland! Love you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

